We are happy to be challenged to cater for those with allergies or other special dietary needs. We use no animal products, no eggs, milk, cream, dairy cheese and (obviously) no meat products, so egg, dairy & fish allergies should not be an concern.

14 allergens are identified in new legislation from the Food Standards Agency.


The following allergens are NEVER used in Veggies Kitchen:

      1. Eggs
      2. Dairy: milk, cheese, cream
      3. Fish
      4. Crustaceans
      5. Molluscs

        The following allergens MAY BE used in Veggies Kitchen:

      7. Soya – included in Veggies burger and sosage mixes
      8. Gluten – cereals, grains & flour, including wheat, rye, barley and oats
      9. Peanuts – in nut rolls, nut roast & choc-brandy-biscuit cake
      10. Tree nuts – in nut rolls, nut roast & some cakes
      11. Sesame seeds – eg. tahini in hummus, & sometime on bread buns
      12. Celery – may be present in stock & in pot meals at gatherings
      13. Mustard – i.e in mustard!
      14. Lupin – not a standard Veggies ingredient
      15. Sulphur dioxide – may be used in dried fruit, such as cherries or raisins


  • We also avoid Genetically Mutated (GM) ingredients.
  • We avoid the use of palm oil, although margerine and cake icing may currently contain sustainably sourced palm oil.



Allergen Awareness Statement

As Veggies Food is always vegan it is suitable for most cultures & faiths, and many special diets.

As holders of the Vegan Society Trademark, and many-times winner of Best Vegan Caterer Awards, we never use eggs, dairy, meat, fish (of any sort) or any other animal products.

However, ‘Vegan’, as defined by the Vegan Society, is an ethical stance and is not an allergy label [ref].

Whilst Veggies foods never knowingly contains animal ingredients, and we are very careful in the use and storage of the listed allergens, some bought-in ingredients may come from kitchens that result in a “may contain” warning.

We advise customers to discuss ANY allergy concerns, including dairy.

We will endeavor to advise the status of the entire supply chain, making improvements through discussion with suppliers where appropriate.



“Gluten Free” / “No Gluten-Containing Ingredients”

The Food Standards Agency states that “around 1% of people in the UK have coeliac disease (sometimes referred to as gluten intolerance). This is a lifelong autoimmune disease which is caused by the immune system reacting to gluten. This makes labelling claims about gluten in foods an important issue.”

Due to the presence of gluten-containing ingredients in Veggies kitchens, we need to avoid using the term “Gluten Free”. However we strive to take appropriate steps to manage cross-contamination from gluten-containing foods. Unless from pre-packed, certified gluten-free products, we cannot suggest that Veggies food is suitable for someone with coeliac disease.

Whenever we are asked for “gluten-free” foods we have a conversation about the ingredients and the risks of cross-contamination. This often enables customers that avoid wheat or gluten and those that have less serious intolerance, to make choices based on their individual levels of sensitivity, and thereby enjoy carefully prepared Veggies foods.



* Other Food Allergens *

While only eight (milk, egg, peanut, tree nuts, soy, wheat, fish, and shellfish) account for about 90 percent of all reactions, allergic reactions have been reported to many other foods.

While far from complete, this list gives an overview of some less common food allergies.



* Vegan Definition *

Veganism is a way of living which seeks to exclude, as far as is possible and practicable, all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose.



We aim to remember the dietary needs of some of our regular diners.

If you’d like to be on our allergy register, contact us.